Loading

Why Do You Need To Have A Gluten Free Chocolate?

People who suffer from diseases such as the celiac are given a gluten free diet by their doctors because even a small consumption of gluten could lead to serious inflammation of intestines in these people. In some people, this condition is very severe but in others the sensitivity to gluten is still there but the effects are not as intense. A gluten free diet is a tough diet and there are many foods which contain gluten out of which chocolate is one. People who are fond of eating chocolates and have gluten sensitivity had no choice but to quit eating these but luckily now there are gluten free chocolates available for such people and there are some kinds of the chocolate which are gluten free.

Pure chocolate:

The chocolate that you normally eat is the processed form of the cacao beans in which many additives are added which include the sugar and the gluten but the chocolate in its original form is free from all these. Although it does not taste like normal chocolate and is usually bitter. But there are some brands which do not add the gluten in the processing of some of their chocolates. Therefore, you could check the ingredients before buying one and could go for the gluten free chocolate version.

Which ingredients to look for in the gluten free chocolate:

Even if the gluten is not separately mentioned as the ingredient in some chocolate bar, it is possible that there are some other ingredients in it which contain the gluten. Therefore, whenever you look for gluten free, make sure that the ingredients like barley, yeast, durum, any kind of malt, and graham flour are not added in the chocolate.

Be very careful:

For someone who has the severe form of the celiac disease, it is very important that he or she does not have even a little of gluten. Even when you see that there are no gluten ingredients in the chocolate and the chocolate claims to be gluten free, even then there could be a chance of the cross contamination which means that if this chocolate is prepared with other gluten chocolates then this could be possible that the containers which are used for the gluten free chocolate is contaminated by the gluten. Therefore, buy from only very authentic and standardized companies and brand who take care of the cross contaminations and use separate containers.

Best is that if you like chocolate and you also like dark chocolate which is the non-processed form then you could consume these in the gluten free diet but even then always read the ingredients before.

 

shares